The Litmos messages tab is your hub for communication within your training platform. Use it to add value to your training courses by giving trainees an opportunity to communicate with you and provide feedback. This is also where you will receive any automatic notification messages which help you keep your finger on the pulse of your training program.
Navigating Your Message Inbox
When you click on the “Messages” tab you will see a screen like the one shown below. From here you can compose a new message and send it to individual users, whole teams, or all members of a selected training course.
How to Use Folders (Formerly Tags)
In Litmos you will find that we use folders which are a great way to organize your messages for faster searching later. For example, I can apply a folder called “Course Building” to a message, then at a later date when I want to find all of the messages related to course building, I can simply click on the “Course Building” folder, which will return all of the related messages.
Viewing and Responding to a Message
For your improved experience navigating the Message page, it has a slim message column and a prompt to see a message within the reading pane on the right side of the page. When you select a message, it opens in the reading pane.
From the reading pane, you can:
- Send a response to the message you are viewing.
- Delete the message you are viewing. When you click the trash can icon, you will be asked to confirm. By confirming, you will permanently delete the message.
- Another delete option is available in the message column. Check the box next to the messages before selecting to delete.
In the message column:
- You can see how many messages you have in your Inbox.
- You can easily switch between Inbox and Sent folders.
- The senders’ initials are displayed next to the message allowing you to locate an email from a certain sender faster.
- The message you are viewing is highlighted to indicate which message is open in your read panel.
Enabling the enhancement
Note: Stay tuned to receive an announcement about the permanent change to this page.
You can easily enable the enhanced version of the Message page. You can turn the toggle on and off freely. The switch is available on both the “Account Settings” themes page and within an individual brand themes page.
Note: Messages and replies sent from Messages are limited to 10 emails in a 24-hour period.
Users will be notified when the limit has been reached:
‘You have exceeded the number of allowed messages within a 24-hour period and can’t attempt anymore at this time.’
Setting Up Automatic Notifications
As the creator of a course or assessment you will receive automatic notifications when your trainees complete those courses or assessments. Also, if you have deadlines set on courses you will be notified of the trainees that have overdue training to complete.
If you want to add or remove yourself from the notifications list for a particular course, you can do this by clicking on the course title under the “Courses” tab and then selecting the “Settings” tab. Under the “Notifications” section you can add or remove people from the list.
Turning off the Notifications to Your External Email Address
If you don’t want to receive a notification to your external email address every time you get a message within Litmos, you can stop this by clicking on the “My Profile” link and clicking edit profile. If you then uncheck the “Send email notifications” option and click the Save button.
Note: You cannot send priority messages; you can only receive them.
The message alert allows us to remind Account Owners and Administrators of late payment of subscription fees. As an account owner/administrator, you will see notifications of new messages and their priority. When you receive a priority message, you will notice an indicator, a red exclamation mark, flashing on the message icon in the top horizontal and vertical navigation bars, as shown below.
When you go to your inbox, you will see priority messages at the top, regardless of when they were sent. They will also display a flashing alert indicator.
Once you read the priority message, it will no longer be flagged. Like the rest of the regular messages, it will also be ordered by the date/time received.
You can easily navigate back to the inbox by tapping the Back button. Once you navigate back to the inbox from the message, the message will update to ‘read’ and stop displaying the flashing alert.